WHAT’S IN A BLOG

I have been neglecting my writing of late. I got cold feet after a long writing session. This is what happened.
Last November I participated in Nanowrimo once again. I thought I had a wonderful story. I was quite upbeat about. When completed I sent it to my husband to do the first rough edit. I have always done this in the past and it has worked well. He has been very supportive and a good sounding board, picking up on all the little quirks and errors.
This time, he did what was required and sent it back to my laptop saying nothing. Strange I thought, but waited. A week or two later I asked what he thought. He hesitated then said, “I didn’t think it was as good as the last ones. It was tame.”
I felt as though he had hit me with a wet whale. I sat back astounded. And then I tried to jazz it up a bit, but the enthusiasm had left me. I should be getting on with it and moving it along, but I can’t face it. Now, it’s almost that time of year again, and usually, the novel from the previous year is on Kindle and in print and out there.
Now what to do? Do I let my ‘masterpiece’ die, or do I give it the kiss of life? I am so unsure of myself. Oh me oh my!
Now I have always read that one should not give unpublished work to family members to read, but it has always worked before. Have the chickens come home to roost as they say?

About margieswrite

I am a published freelance writer, of children's stories, a memoir, travel articles, birding articles, and articles of general interest to magazines and newspapers, with an interest in photography. In addition I am able to edit and undertake writing commissions for businesses and schools who wish to promote themselves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAT’S IN A BLOG

  1. Honestly? Put it at the back of your cupboard and move on. AND…don’t give your next draft to hubby! Put on your writer’s life jacket in case there are any more whales out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

