I AM ASHAMED!

Well can’t believe I last wrote in October. Mind you it was a good theme on which to have ended. So much happened in between. I wrote a whole novel in Afrikaans, submitted in to a national competition and sat back and waited, luckily not with bated breath or I would have died from asphyxiation. Well, the competition closed, the shortlist was announced – I didn’t make it needless to say – and the winners announced. What I achieved though was a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction. I wrote a novel in a couple of months. Luckily I had my dear friend Belinda to vet the Afrikaans which was a little rusty from disuse and also to do a bit of an edit and add some sage advice. And then I hauled the long lost memoir out of the box and polished it, and started re-submitting that too. Did a good query letter which aroused some interest from two agents so far, but then the let down. Today I dredged said item up again and sent it off. I’m spurred on by letters of  rejection reported by others – one writer submitted no less than 68 times. I still have a l-o-n-g way to go for that.

And I was forced to close down the writers’ circle due to lack of participation. Our secretary retired, the treasurer had long ago given up and I couldn’t get anyone to come on the committee. That and falling membership made it all impossible. So I look a uni-lateral decision and said NO MORE. Then there were bleats that I had acted hastily. Too bad, when I needed people to come forward there was no one there to take up office. And to my shame, the last ‘committee meeting’ I arranged, I ended up with only me at the meeting. Some said afterwards they hadn’t received the notifications due to gremlins in the email system, but so be it. However, it’s been a weight off my shoulders. I haven’t missed it at all.

Another thing, I stopped writing for the local paper. This was another momentous decision for me. I liked seeing my articles in print even though they sometimes ‘forgot’ them. I was taken to task by my bird club for not submitting reports (which I had) but which got lost in the machinations of the newspaper office. I was going to devote my writing time to more lucrative endeavours. So far, I’ve been submitting regularly (competitions only at this stage) and am ever hopeful. I’ve had time to polish my work and to read prodigiously once more – all things I had no time for. So that’s where we are at.

Do watch this space. I plan to resurrect my writing again and Easter seems an appropriate time for resurrection and renewal. Keep watching and I’ll be wringing a lot more out of my semi-retired brain.

About margieswrite

I am a published freelance writer, of children's stories, a memoir, travel articles, birding articles, and articles of general interest to magazines and newspapers, with an interest in photography. In addition I am able to edit and undertake writing commissions for businesses and schools who wish to promote themselves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I AM ASHAMED!

  1. Belinda Joubert says:

    YOU are loved dearest Earth Angel ❤

Leave a Reply

